RSS

Hello world!

18 Aug

To celebrate my 24th year on this planet, I decided to throw a “Roaring ’20’s”-themed birthday bash. I had been searching for the perfect outfit that not only would fit the theme, but also wouldn’t look like a costume. I searched Etsy.com, various retail stores and finally hit up Ebay. I haven’t bought anything on there since my junior year of college, but sure enough it always come through for me. After days of scouring for “1920’s dress,” “flapper dress” and “vintage dress,” I finally found an Anne Taylor black chiffon ruffle dress. It was perfect! The right size, the right look and, most importantly, the right price. It was only $20 with $6 shipping for a dress that would normally retail for $89. I’m a relentless bargain shopper. I constantly look for the lowest price, I love the thrill of searching and the feeling of victory when I succeed in my mission.

The first item on my fall shopping list is a camel coat. It’s one of the must have wardrobe pieces for fall. So far, I’ve managed to find one almost new for $15. I’m holding off for now because I’m not sure of the fit. The only downside to shopping online verses in the store is you’re not able to try on items. It’s important when shopping online to: 1. Know your measurements (a lot of sellers will  put the actually measurements for a garment) and 2. Check the return policy (some sellers have flexible return policies, while others have strict “no returns” policy).

With the world in the midst of a recession, we are discovering more and more the thrill of bargain shopping, sometimes out of simple necessity. There are a lot of great deals to be found online if you’re willing to pound the keys and look. Retail chains have also evolved around stylish thrift seekers. TJ Maxx and it’s sister company, Marshalls; Ross; and Burlington Coat factory provide fashion conscious consumers current fashions at a fraction of the cost. High-end consignments also provide a great place to dig up great fashion finds for fraction of the cost. More on consignments to come.

In the mean time, go forth and be fabulous!

****Stay tuned for pictures of the complete birthday outfit.****

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
