RSS

Cleaning out my closet (and dresser)

08 Sep

Aftermath of the cleanup.

My closet and dresser are nightmares. It usually looks like my clothes are trying to escape my room; it’s the worst right after laundry day. Let me put it into perspective for you, I have eight dresser drawers and my boyfriend has four. I still manage to run out of space to put clothes. This weekend, I could no longer delay the inevitable. My closet and dresser needed a makeover, but where to begin?

I started with my dresser. I pulled out each drawer and sifted through the countless articles of clothing I accumulated both during and after college. I started three piles: a trash pile, for those clothes which had lived way past their shelf life and were well worn; a consignment shop pile, for the clothes which still had more years of joy to give; and a third pile for my co-worker who I am making over (more on that to come in a later blog post). Then I moved onto my closet and did the same thing. Generally, I abide by the rule if you haven’t worn it in a year, get rid of it, or if it’s too small, ditch it because you probably will not fit back into it (although sometimes this is hard to accept).

I organized the clothes in the closet by sleeve length; dresses in the front followed by blouses, sweaters, cardigans and suits. With my drawers, I organized them by like items. T-shirts in one drawer followed by dressier T-shirts; dress pants and fold-able dress skirts; jeans and casual pants; dress pants; and finally a miscellaneous drawer.

At the end of the day, my dresser was organized neatly sans run away clothes. My closet is still packed, but I did make room for new fall wardrobe pieces. I reorganized my closet shelves. I dusted them, then put down green, rubber shelf liner — which I had extra from doing my kitchen cabinets — for my clothes to sit on. So far, the improvement is immense. I plan on buying those adhesive 3-M wall hooks to put on the closet wall for purses, long necklaces and belts.

I’m hoping to make this a lasting resolution because organization makes life a lot easier. It should also help keep my wardrobe in good shape.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
