RSS

Lesley’s Journey: Part 1

17 Sep

Lesley before she gets her hair cut

I love shopping. It’s no secret I can get down with a good sale. I decided recently to put my love of shopping and seven years retail experience to use as a personal shopper. One of my co-workers, Lesley, mentioned she had wanted to re-invent her style. The best way to describe her style is teeny bopper mixed with hippie. It happens; I worked for DEB in high school and I was stuck in a teeny-bopper phase through college.

We started at 11 a.m. on Saturday and went through her dresser. We pulled out a lot of clothes that were worn and needed tossed. I ran into the same thing when I recently cleaned out my own closet. I think a lot of us don’t bother reading the care labels of our clothing. Improper clothing care causes favorite pieces to wear quickly.

After we finished cleaning out the drawers, we organized everything by like items: Denim in one drawer, sweaters in another and shirts in another.

Then it was onto the fun part: shopping. Our budget was limited to $20 for the first day, but I’m not afraid of a challenge. Living in a recession means having to stretch your funds. I had brought some of my own pieces that no longer fit, and they fit great on Lesley.

One essential piece I noticed missing was a camisole. Every woman should own at least three camisoles in basic colors: black, white and brown. Especially if you’re bustier you don’t want the girls hanging out at work. Out at the club is a different story, I fully support working what God gave ya! We were able to get two camisoles for $12 at Old Navy. A great deal. I highly recommend Old Navy for wardrobe essentials like camisoles, jeans and cardigans. You can’t beat the prices.

Lesley during the hair cut

Next up on the agenda was a hair cut. Lesley rocked the long hair, but she has thick hair that means more time drying it in the morning. I love long hair; I rocked it in college, but unless you are going to invest the time in maintaining it with trims every six weeks and conditioning, I don’t recommend it. She wasn’t up for a total chop job, but was able to do long layers, taking off three inches and thinning out her hair. The stylist recommended a sweeping bang and colored it a chocolate brown color. After hitting up the local grocery store for the perfect color, we spent about an hour and half trying to dye brown her already black-dyed hair.

We concluded Saturday by putting together outfits for the whole week to make it easier to get up and go in the morning. I love playing fashion show; it was a blast.

There’s still more work to be done: on tap for this weekend is more shopping this time with $100. Still a challenge, but a manageable one.

Lesley after the makeover, top by Dots, camisole by Old Navy, skirt by Vera Wang for Kohls.

When Lesley came into work this past Monday, she was beaming. It was a total confidence boost. She mentioned that she noticed a difference in the way people treated and perceived her. It’s definitely a step in the right direction.

Lessons learned:

  • The worst victims of improper clothing care are knits. Knit sweaters and shirts tend to pelt and get round fuzzies all over. A way to slow this down is to follow the care instructions; most knits will tell you to machine wash cold and dry on low heat. I would take that one step further and invest in a drying rack to air dry knits. After you get rid of the worn knits, we pitched clothes with holes. I also follow the rule of, if you haven’t worn it in a year get rid of it. If you’re waiting to lose weight to fit into those jeans, while I appreciate that thought, get rid of it.
  • For those of you who have thought about dying your hair black, make sure to evaluate if it’s really what you want. Black is a hard color to change; you pretty much have to bleach it and re-dye when you want to change colors. I was unaware of this, so this weekend we have to start from scratch and re-dye it.
  • Keep the girls covered up at work. Save the cleave for the club. Remember to dress not for the job you have, but the job you want.

Stay tuned for more of Lesley’s journey through the world of fashion.

I love shopping. It’s no secret I can get down with a good sale. I decided recently to put my love of shopping and seven years retail experience to use as a personal shopper. One of my co-workers mentioned she had wanted to re-invent her style. The best way to describe her style is teeny bopper mixed with hippie. It happens; I worked for DEB in high school and I was stuck in a teeny-bopper phase through college.

We started at 11 a.m. on Saturday and went through her dresser. We pulled out a lot of clothes that were worn and needed tossed. I ran into the same thing when I recently cleaned out my own closet. I think a lot of us don’t bother reading the care labels of our clothing. Improper clothing care causes favorite pieces to wear quickly (see sidebar).

After we finished cleaning out the drawers, we organized everything by like item: Denim in one drawer, sweaters in another and shirts in another.

Then it was onto the fun part: shopping. Our budget was limited to $20 for the first day, but I’m not afraid of a challenge. Living in a recession means having to stretch your funds. I had brought some of my own pieces that no longer fit, and they fit great on my co-worker.

One essential piece I noticed missing was a camisole. Every woman should own at least three camisoles in basic colors: black, white and brown. Especially if you’re bustier you don’t want the girls hanging out at work. Out at the club is a different story, I fully support working what God gave ya! We able to get two camisoles for $12 at Old Navy. A great deal. I highly recommend Old Navy for wardrobe essentials like camisoles, jeans and cardigans. You can’t beat the prices.

Next up on the agenda was a hair cut. My co-worker rocked the long hair, but she has thick hair that means more time drying it in the morning. I love long hair; I rocked it in college, but unless you are going to invest the time in maintaining it with trims every six weeks and conditioning, I don’t recommend it. She wasn’t up for a total chop job, but was able to do long layers, taking off three inches and thinning out her hair. The stylist recommended a sweeping bang and colored it a chocolate brown color. After hitting up the local grocery store for the perfect color, we spent about an hour and half trying to dye brown her already black-dyed hair.

We concluded Saturday by putting together outfits for the whole week to make it easier to get up and go in the morning. I love playing fashion show; it was a blast.

There’s still more work to be done: on tap for next weekend is more shopping this time with $100. Still a challenge, but a manageable one.

When the co-worker came into work today, she was beaming. It was a total confidence boost. She mentioned that she noticed a difference in the way people treated and perceived her. It’s definitely a step in the right decision.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
