RSS

Warning! Dangerous Curves Ahead

21 Sep

OneStopPlus.com hosted New York Fashion Week’s first plus size show. As a girl with curves who’s struggled with weight and feeling comfortable in my own skin, I wanted to check out their site and some other plus size sites. While I don’t shop in plus size stores, I was curious to see the level of fashion carried by different plus size retailers. I scoped out One Stop Plus, Torride and IGIGI.

One Stop Plus

I found a lot of great items but one thing I noticed, while the web site featured some plus size models, it seemed to feature mostly non-plus size models. In my opinion, if you are a plus size store, catering to plus size women, you should solely feature plus size models. Different cuts and styles are going to fit a plus size woman differently than a petite woman.

Torrid

Unlike One Stop Plus, Torrid seamed to solely feature Plus Size models. My biggest complaint about Torrid, too much plaid, to the point it reminds me of a Catholic school girl. In their defense, I think Torrid seems to be geared towards a junior demographic while One Stop Plus features more grownup fashion.

IGIGI

This site had my top favorite styles. They combined flattering with high style. Although slightly more expensive than Torrid and One Stop Plus, IGIGI featured high quality. They seem to understand plus size women the best, and show that no matter what size, you can be fabulous. I love that they feature bright colors and fun patterns.

Below are some of my favorite looks from each site.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
